HEAD-TO-HEAD · FACTS ONLY
Workforce Protector vs Bloom: AI endpoint control facts side by side
Short answer
By The Device Desk · Endpoint AI Finder · Published 2026-10-11
Desk research from public vendor pages read on 27 September and 11 October 2026. Profiles follow our published method; we did not run the products.
Vendor pages read September and October 2026 · updated 2026-10-13
Where do their controls sit?
- Filled or hatched marker: Workforce Protector
- Dashed teal ring: Bloom, described
- DEV Filled marker: described on the product pages we read
- DEV Hatched marker: partly described (another component, a narrower scope, or method not detailed)
- DEV Dashed marker: not in our sources (it may exist; we did not find it)
What are the facts, side by side?
| Fact | Workforce Protector | Bloom |
|---|---|---|
| Owner | Akamai (formerly LayerX; acquisition date not stated on the page) | None |
| Positioning | Akamai Workforce Protector, formerly LayerX, is a browser extension for Chrome, Edge, Firefox and Safari that controls prompts, responses, agent actions and data exchanges across AI, SaaS, web and desktop applications, including agentic browsers and AI assistants, without proxies or a browser replacement. | An endpoint security company built around "Securing the AI-Native Endpoint": discovery of the software, extensions and AI tools running on devices, with policy enforcement across package and extension marketplaces. Offices in Wilmington, Delaware and Tel Aviv. |
| How it reaches devices | A browser extension for Chrome, Edge, Firefox and Safari; Akamai says it needs no proxies and no browser replacement. Source: Akamai Workforce Protector (formerly LayerX) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Deployment method not published on the pages we read (re-checked 11 October 2026). Source: Bloom Security homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| On-device control | Partly describedThe page says its controls reach desktop applications; how that works on the device is not described on the page we read. Source: Akamai Workforce Protector (formerly LayerX) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Partly describedDiscovers software, extensions and AI on the endpoint and automatically scales back overpermissioned MCP servers; how it reaches the device is not published. Source: Bloom Security homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Browser extensionDiffers | DescribedA browser extension for Chrome, Edge, Firefox and Safari that controls prompts, responses, agent actions and data exchanges. Source: Akamai Workforce Protector (formerly LayerX) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Not in our sourcesNot described on the pages we read. |
| Network or SSE proxy | Not in our sourcesNot described on the pages we read. | Not in our sourcesNot described on the pages we read. |
| AI or MCP gateway | Not in our sourcesNot described on the pages we read. | Not in our sourcesNot described on the pages we read. |
| Names the coding agents it covers | Not in our sources | Not in our sources |
| Decides on a tool call before it runs | PartlyControls agent actions, including in agentic browsers; decisions on coding agent tool calls are not described. Source: Akamai Workforce Protector (formerly LayerX) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | PartlyAutomatically scales back overpermissioned MCP servers; decisions on individual calls are not described. Source: Bloom Security homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Controls what goes into browser AIDiffers | MatchesControls prompts and data exchanges, with warn, redact, block and guide. Source: Akamai Workforce Protector (formerly LayerX) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Not in our sources |
| Rolls out through EDR or device management you run | Not in our sources | Not in our sources |
| Can warn or ask instead of only blockingDiffers | MatchesWarn and guide are actions alongside redact and block. Source: Akamai Workforce Protector (formerly LayerX) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Not in our sources |
| Can block an agent, tool or actionDiffers | MatchesBlock is one of its actions. Source: Akamai Workforce Protector (formerly LayerX) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | PartlyEnforces policies across npm, Chrome Web Store and Open VSX. Source: Bloom Security homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Has a watch-only or simulation mode | Not in our sources | Not in our sources |
| Records who or what took each action | Not in our sources | Not in our sources |
| Also covers SaaS, cloud or homegrown AIDiffers | PartlyCovers AI inside SaaS and web applications through the browser. Source: Akamai Workforce Protector (formerly LayerX) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Not in our sources |
| Has a public price or tiers (vendor site or marketplace) | Not in our sources | Not in our sources |
| Built into | None | None |
| Works with | None in our sources | None in our sources |
| Price | Not published (demo request only). Source: Akamai Workforce Protector (formerly LayerX) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Not published. Source: Bloom Security homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
Where do they differ?
- Browser extension: Workforce Protector describes it; Bloom is not in our sources.
- Controls what goes into browser AI: Workforce Protector matches; Bloom is not in our sources.
- Can warn or ask instead of only blocking: Workforce Protector matches; Bloom is not in our sources.
- Can block an agent, tool or action: Workforce Protector matches; Bloom partly matches.
- Also covers SaaS, cloud or homegrown AI: Workforce Protector partly matches; Bloom is not in our sources.
Choose Workforce Protector if
- Most AI use happens in browsers and you want to warn, redact or guide rather than block
- People use agentic browsers or AI assistants inside SaaS apps
Choose Bloom if
- Your first worry is unvetted extensions and packages arriving on developer machines
- You want an inventory of everything on the endpoint before you write AI-specific rules
Which limits should you check?
Workforce Protector
- Coding agents in a terminal and MCP servers on the device are not described on the page we read.
- The acquisition date is not stated on the page, and no pricing is published.
Bloom
- Deployment method and pricing are not published.
- Decisions on individual tool calls and an activity record are not described on the pages we read.
- Limited company information on its own pages: they do not name investors; funding is known from press coverage (Ctech, 30 July 2026).