HEAD-TO-HEAD · FACTS ONLY
Workforce Protector vs Falcon Guardian: AI endpoint control facts side by side
Short answer
By The Device Desk · Endpoint AI Finder · Published 2026-10-11
Desk research from public vendor pages read on 27 September and 11 October 2026. Profiles follow our published method; we did not run the products.
Vendor pages read September and October 2026 · updated 2026-10-13
Where do their controls sit?
- Filled or hatched marker: Workforce Protector
- Dashed teal ring: Falcon Guardian, described
- DEV Filled marker: described on the product pages we read
- DEV Hatched marker: partly described (another component, a narrower scope, or method not detailed)
- DEV Dashed marker: not in our sources (it may exist; we did not find it)
What are the facts, side by side?
| Fact | Workforce Protector | Falcon Guardian |
|---|---|---|
| Owner | Akamai (formerly LayerX; acquisition date not stated on the page) | None |
| Positioning | Akamai Workforce Protector, formerly LayerX, is a browser extension for Chrome, Edge, Firefox and Safari that controls prompts, responses, agent actions and data exchanges across AI, SaaS, web and desktop applications, including agentic browsers and AI assistants, without proxies or a browser replacement. | CrowdStrike's AI agent security product, described on 1 September 2026 as the evolution of Falcon AI Detection and Response (AIDR). It discovers shadow AI agents, connects agent activity to endpoint telemetry, governs which AI agents may run, protects prompts and sensitive data, and stops threats at runtime with containment, from endpoint to cloud and SaaS. |
| How it reaches devices | A browser extension for Chrome, Edge, Firefox and Safari; Akamai says it needs no proxies and no browser replacement. Source: Akamai Workforce Protector (formerly LayerX) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Through the Falcon sensor on supported Windows, macOS and Linux endpoints; Claude Code coverage is a JSON block in the Claude Code settings file with no agent to install, assigned through Falcon host groups. Source: CrowdStrike blog: Copilot Studio agents and Claude Code, 30 July 2026 · Read 13 Oct 2026 |
| On-device controlDiffers | Partly describedThe page says its controls reach desktop applications; how that works on the device is not described on the page we read. Source: Akamai Workforce Protector (formerly LayerX) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | DescribedDiscovers AI agents on supported endpoints and ties prompts, skills, tool calls, MCP servers and identity to what runs next; defines which agent types may run. Source: CrowdStrike blog: Falcon Guardian, 1 September 2026 · Read 13 Oct 2026 |
| Browser extensionDiffers | DescribedA browser extension for Chrome, Edge, Firefox and Safari that controls prompts, responses, agent actions and data exchanges. Source: Akamai Workforce Protector (formerly LayerX) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Partly described(secondary: SACR) delivered also through browser extensions. Source: SACR (secondary): CISO guide to endpoint control and prevention, July 2026 · Read 13 Oct 2026 · secondary source |
| Network or SSE proxy | Not in our sourcesNot described on the pages we read. | Not in our sourcesNot described on the pages we read. |
| AI or MCP gatewayDiffers | Not in our sourcesNot described on the pages we read. | Partly describedThe AI gateway is listed as coming soon; SACR (secondary) also lists an MCP proxy. Source: CrowdStrike: Falcon Guardian (formerly AIDR) · Read 13 Oct 2026 |
| Names the coding agents it coversDiffers | Not in our sources | PartlyNames Claude Code and Copilot Studio agents; Cursor, Codex and GitHub Copilot are not named on the pages we read. Source: CrowdStrike blog: Copilot Studio agents and Claude Code, 30 July 2026 · Read 13 Oct 2026 |
| Decides on a tool call before it runsDiffers | PartlyControls agent actions, including in agentic browsers; decisions on coding agent tool calls are not described. Source: Akamai Workforce Protector (formerly LayerX) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | MatchesChecks and blocks Claude Code prompts and tool activity as they happen, and returns allow or block before a Copilot Studio agent runs a tool. Source: CrowdStrike blog: Copilot Studio agents and Claude Code, 30 July 2026 · Read 13 Oct 2026 |
| Controls what goes into browser AIDiffers | MatchesControls prompts and data exchanges, with warn, redact, block and guide. Source: Akamai Workforce Protector (formerly LayerX) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Not in our sources |
| Rolls out through EDR or device management you runDiffers | Not in our sources | MatchesThrough the Falcon sensor, if you run CrowdStrike Falcon. Source: CrowdStrike blog: Falcon Guardian, 1 September 2026 · Read 13 Oct 2026 |
| Can warn or ask instead of only blockingDiffers | MatchesWarn and guide are actions alongside redact and block. Source: Akamai Workforce Protector (formerly LayerX) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Not in our sources |
| Can block an agent, tool or action | MatchesBlock is one of its actions. Source: Akamai Workforce Protector (formerly LayerX) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | MatchesAutomatic containment by blocking malicious agent behaviors. Source: CrowdStrike blog: Falcon Guardian, 1 September 2026 · Read 13 Oct 2026 |
| Has a watch-only or simulation mode | Not in our sources | Not in our sources |
| Records who or what took each actionDiffers | Not in our sources | MatchesClaude Code events tied to a session and user in Falcon Next-Gen SIEM. Source: CrowdStrike blog: Copilot Studio agents and Claude Code, 30 July 2026 · Read 13 Oct 2026 |
| Also covers SaaS, cloud or homegrown AIDiffers | PartlyCovers AI inside SaaS and web applications through the browser. Source: Akamai Workforce Protector (formerly LayerX) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | MatchesCovers agents from endpoint to cloud and SaaS, including Copilot Studio. Source: CrowdStrike: Falcon Guardian (formerly AIDR) · Read 13 Oct 2026 |
| Has a public price or tiers (vendor site or marketplace) | Not in our sources | Not in our sources |
| Built into | None | Part of the CrowdStrike Falcon platform. Source: CrowdStrike: Falcon Guardian (formerly AIDR) · Read 13 Oct 2026 |
| Works with | None in our sources | None in our sources |
| Price | Not published (demo request only). Source: Akamai Workforce Protector (formerly LayerX) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Not published. CrowdStrike's pricing page lists Falcon Go, Pro and Enterprise bundles, none of which include Falcon Guardian. Source: CrowdStrike: pricing · Read 13 Oct 2026 |
Where do they differ?
- On-device control: Workforce Protector partly describes it; Falcon Guardian describes it.
- Browser extension: Workforce Protector describes it; Falcon Guardian partly describes it.
- AI or MCP gateway: Workforce Protector is not in our sources; Falcon Guardian partly describes it.
- Names the coding agents it covers: Workforce Protector is not in our sources; Falcon Guardian partly matches.
- Decides on a tool call before it runs: Workforce Protector partly matches; Falcon Guardian matches.
- Controls what goes into browser AI: Workforce Protector matches; Falcon Guardian is not in our sources.
- Rolls out through EDR or device management you run: Workforce Protector is not in our sources; Falcon Guardian matches.
- Can warn or ask instead of only blocking: Workforce Protector matches; Falcon Guardian is not in our sources.
- Records who or what took each action: Workforce Protector is not in our sources; Falcon Guardian matches.
- Also covers SaaS, cloud or homegrown AI: Workforce Protector partly matches; Falcon Guardian matches.
Choose Workforce Protector if
- Most AI use happens in browsers and you want to warn, redact or guide rather than block
- People use agentic browsers or AI assistants inside SaaS apps
Choose Falcon Guardian if
- You already run CrowdStrike Falcon and want AI agent controls in the same console
- Your agents include Copilot Studio as well as Claude Code
Which limits should you check?
Workforce Protector
- Coding agents in a terminal and MCP servers on the device are not described on the page we read.
- The acquisition date is not stated on the page, and no pricing is published.
Falcon Guardian
- Needs CrowdStrike Falcon for the device path.
- Claude Code is the only coding agent named on the pages we read.
- The AI gateway is listed as coming soon, and no price is published.