Skip to content
Endpoint AI Finder

HEAD-TO-HEAD · FACTS ONLY

Workforce Protector vs Harmonic: AI endpoint control facts side by side

Short answer

Workforce Protector describes 1 of the four product control types on the pages we read and Harmonic describes 2; they differ on AI or MCP gateway. On decisions, Workforce Protector describes some control over tool calls and Harmonic describes some control over tool calls. We do not score either; the right choice depends on the AI tools people use, your devices, your current stack and whether you block or guide.

By The Device Desk · Endpoint AI Finder · Published 2026-10-11

Desk research from public vendor pages read on 27 September and 11 October 2026. Profiles follow our published method; we did not run the products.

Vendor pages read September and October 2026 · updated 2026-10-13

Where do their controls sit?

Workforce Protector: described at 1 of 4 product control positions (browser extension), partly at 1 (on-device control).AI servicesMCP serversDEVOn-device controlBRWBrowser extensionNETNetwork or SSE proxyGWYAI or MCP gatewayPOLPolicy: no product
  • Filled or hatched marker: Workforce Protector
  • Dashed teal ring: Harmonic, described
  • DEV Filled marker: described on the product pages we read
  • DEV Hatched marker: partly described (another component, a narrower scope, or method not detailed)
  • DEV Dashed marker: not in our sources (it may exist; we did not find it)
The map shows where each product's own pages describe a control, or where your answers point. It is not a measure of how well a product works.

What are the facts, side by side?

Akamai Workforce Protector and Harmonic Security, from each product's own pages. Differs is computed from recorded statuses, not wording.
FactWorkforce ProtectorHarmonic
OwnerAkamai (formerly LayerX; acquisition date not stated on the page)None
PositioningAkamai Workforce Protector, formerly LayerX, is a browser extension for Chrome, Edge, Firefox and Safari that controls prompts, responses, agent actions and data exchanges across AI, SaaS, web and desktop applications, including agentic browsers and AI assistants, without proxies or a browser replacement.A data protection product for everyday AI use, sold as Explore, Guide and Command, covering browser extensions, desktop apps and CLI tools, MCP gateways and an API.
How it reaches devicesA browser extension for Chrome, Edge, Firefox and Safari; Akamai says it needs no proxies and no browser replacement.

Source: Akamai Workforce Protector (formerly LayerX) · Read 11 Oct 2026

Rolls out through Intune, JAMF, Kandji or Group Policy.

Source: Harmonic Security homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026

On-device controlPartly describedThe page says its controls reach desktop applications; how that works on the device is not described on the page we read.

Source: Akamai Workforce Protector (formerly LayerX) · Read 11 Oct 2026

Partly describedDeployment options include desktop apps and AI agents, rolled out through device management; the on-device component is not described in detail.

Source: Harmonic Security pricing (re-read) · Read 11 Oct 2026

Browser extensionDescribedA browser extension for Chrome, Edge, Firefox and Safari that controls prompts, responses, agent actions and data exchanges.

Source: Akamai Workforce Protector (formerly LayerX) · Read 11 Oct 2026

DescribedBrowser extensions are a listed surface, with block, warn or log actions.

Source: Harmonic Security homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026

Network or SSE proxyNot in our sourcesNot described on the pages we read.Not in our sourcesNot described on the pages we read.
AI or MCP gatewayDiffersNot in our sourcesNot described on the pages we read.DescribedMCP gateways are a listed surface, and Harmonic Command governs at the MCP layer and at the tool surface.

Source: Harmonic Security: Command · Read 27 Sep 2026

Names the coding agents it coversDiffersNot in our sourcesMatchesThe Guide tier adds desktop AI apps and developer tools, naming Claude Code, GitHub Copilot, ChatGPT Desktop and Microsoft 365 Copilot.

Source: Harmonic Security pricing (re-read) · Read 11 Oct 2026

Decides on a tool call before it runsPartlyControls agent actions, including in agentic browsers; decisions on coding agent tool calls are not described.

Source: Akamai Workforce Protector (formerly LayerX) · Read 11 Oct 2026

PartlyThe Command tier adds MCP client and server discovery, agent permissions for read, write and execute, and MCP server tool controls.

Source: Harmonic Security pricing (re-read) · Read 11 Oct 2026

Controls what goes into browser AIMatchesControls prompts and data exchanges, with warn, redact, block and guide.

Source: Akamai Workforce Protector (formerly LayerX) · Read 11 Oct 2026

MatchesBlock, warn or log on AI use in the browser.

Source: Harmonic Security homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026

Rolls out through EDR or device management you runDiffersNot in our sourcesMatchesRolls out through Intune, JAMF, Kandji or Group Policy.

Source: Harmonic Security homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026

Can warn or ask instead of only blockingMatchesWarn and guide are actions alongside redact and block.

Source: Akamai Workforce Protector (formerly LayerX) · Read 11 Oct 2026

MatchesWarn is one of three actions, with block and log.

Source: Harmonic Security homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026

Can block an agent, tool or actionMatchesBlock is one of its actions.

Source: Akamai Workforce Protector (formerly LayerX) · Read 11 Oct 2026

MatchesBlock is one of three actions.

Source: Harmonic Security homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026

Has a watch-only or simulation modeDiffersNot in our sourcesMatchesLog is one of three actions, for watching before enforcing.

Source: Harmonic Security homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026

Records who or what took each actionNot in our sourcesNot in our sources
Also covers SaaS, cloud or homegrown AIPartlyCovers AI inside SaaS and web applications through the browser.

Source: Akamai Workforce Protector (formerly LayerX) · Read 11 Oct 2026

PartlyAn API is listed alongside device surfaces; SaaS or cloud agents are not described.

Source: Harmonic Security homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026

Has a public price or tiers (vendor site or marketplace)DiffersNot in our sourcesPartlyNames three tiers (Explore, Guide, Command) on its pricing page, without prices.

Source: Harmonic Security: pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Built intoNoneNone
Works withNone in our sourcesNone in our sources
PriceNot published (demo request only).

Source: Akamai Workforce Protector (formerly LayerX) · Read 11 Oct 2026

Three named tiers (Explore, Guide, Command) with no prices; a full prompt audit log is an add-on on Guide and Command.

Source: Harmonic Security pricing (re-read) · Read 11 Oct 2026

Where do they differ?

  • AI or MCP gateway: Workforce Protector is not in our sources; Harmonic describes it.
  • Names the coding agents it covers: Workforce Protector is not in our sources; Harmonic matches.
  • Rolls out through EDR or device management you run: Workforce Protector is not in our sources; Harmonic matches.
  • Has a watch-only or simulation mode: Workforce Protector is not in our sources; Harmonic matches.
  • Has a public price or tiers (vendor site or marketplace): Workforce Protector is not in our sources; Harmonic partly matches.

Choose Workforce Protector if

  • Most AI use happens in browsers and you want to warn, redact or guide rather than block
  • People use agentic browsers or AI assistants inside SaaS apps

Choose Harmonic if

  • Your main risk is employees pasting sensitive data into AI tools and you would rather coach than block
  • You manage devices with Intune, JAMF, Kandji or Group Policy

Which limits should you check?

Workforce Protector

  • Coding agents in a terminal and MCP servers on the device are not described on the page we read.
  • The acquisition date is not stated on the page, and no pricing is published.

Harmonic

  • Tier names only, no prices, and the full prompt audit log is an add-on.
  • An activity record that separates a person from an agent is not described, and prompt injection protection is listed as coming soon.

Questions people ask

Is Workforce Protector or Harmonic better for AI endpoint control?

Neither is scored on this site. Workforce Protector describes 1 of four product control types and Harmonic 2 on the pages we read, and they differ on 5 recorded facts. Which fits depends on the AI tools people use, your devices, where the work happens and whether you block or guide; the finder checks those.

Which of the two decides on a tool call before it runs?

Workforce Protector: Partly. Harmonic: Partly. Warn or ask: Workforce Protector Matches, Harmonic Matches.

Do Workforce Protector or Harmonic publish prices?

Workforce Protector: Not published (demo request only). Harmonic: Three named tiers (Explore, Guide, Command) with no prices; a full prompt audit log is an add-on on Guide and Command.