HEAD-TO-HEAD · FACTS ONLY
Workforce Protector vs Lasso: AI endpoint control facts side by side
Short answer
By The Device Desk · Endpoint AI Finder · Published 2026-10-11
Desk research from public vendor pages read on 27 September and 11 October 2026. Profiles follow our published method; we did not run the products.
Vendor pages read September and October 2026 · updated 2026-10-13
Where do their controls sit?
- Filled or hatched marker: Workforce Protector
- Dashed teal ring: Lasso, described
- DEV Filled marker: described on the product pages we read
- DEV Hatched marker: partly described (another component, a narrower scope, or method not detailed)
- DEV Dashed marker: not in our sources (it may exist; we did not find it)
What are the facts, side by side?
| Fact | Workforce Protector | Lasso |
|---|---|---|
| Owner | Akamai (formerly LayerX; acquisition date not stated on the page) | None |
| Positioning | Akamai Workforce Protector, formerly LayerX, is a browser extension for Chrome, Edge, Firefox and Safari that controls prompts, responses, agent actions and data exchanges across AI, SaaS, web and desktop applications, including agentic browsers and AI assistants, without proxies or a browser replacement. | An AI security platform with discovery and an AI-BOM, posture management, automated red teaming and runtime enforcement at the proxy, API or AI gateway layer, plus usage control through a browser extension and an open-source MCP gateway. |
| How it reaches devices | A browser extension for Chrome, Edge, Firefox and Safari; Akamai says it needs no proxies and no browser replacement. Source: Akamai Workforce Protector (formerly LayerX) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Several components: a browser extension and proxy integrations for usage control, an open-source MCP gateway, and Claude Code lifecycle hooks set through the enterprise management platform. Source: Lasso Security: AI usage control · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| On-device control | Partly describedThe page says its controls reach desktop applications; how that works on the device is not described on the page we read. Source: Akamai Workforce Protector (formerly LayerX) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Partly describedConnects directly to Claude Code's lifecycle hooks via the enterprise management platform and inspects every tool call before it runs; a resident device agent is not described. Source: Lasso Security: AI coding assistants · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Browser extension | DescribedA browser extension for Chrome, Edge, Firefox and Safari that controls prompts, responses, agent actions and data exchanges. Source: Akamai Workforce Protector (formerly LayerX) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | DescribedAI usage control through a browser extension. Source: Lasso Security: AI usage control · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Network or SSE proxyDiffers | Not in our sourcesNot described on the pages we read. | DescribedProxy integrations for AI usage control; the page says it works with Palo Alto Networks or CrowdStrike. Source: Lasso Security: AI usage control · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| AI or MCP gatewayDiffers | Not in our sourcesNot described on the pages we read. | DescribedAn open-source MCP gateway that discovers MCP servers across Claude, Cursor and Windsurf and can block, alert or sanitize. Source: Lasso Security: MCP security · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Names the coding agents it coversDiffers | Not in our sources | MatchesClaude Code lifecycle hooks, and MCP discovery across Claude, Cursor and Windsurf. Source: Lasso Security: AI coding assistants · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Decides on a tool call before it runsDiffers | PartlyControls agent actions, including in agentic browsers; decisions on coding agent tool calls are not described. Source: Akamai Workforce Protector (formerly LayerX) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | MatchesInspects every Claude Code tool call before it is executed. Source: Lasso Security: AI coding assistants · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Controls what goes into browser AI | MatchesControls prompts and data exchanges, with warn, redact, block and guide. Source: Akamai Workforce Protector (formerly LayerX) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | MatchesUsage control through a browser extension. Source: Lasso Security: AI usage control · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Rolls out through EDR or device management you runDiffers | Not in our sources | PartlyClaude Code hooks are set through the enterprise management platform; the other components are a browser extension, a proxy and a gateway. Source: Lasso Security: AI coding assistants · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Can warn or ask instead of only blockingDiffers | MatchesWarn and guide are actions alongside redact and block. Source: Akamai Workforce Protector (formerly LayerX) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | PartlyAlert is an action; asking the user is not described. Source: Lasso Security: MCP security · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Can block an agent, tool or action | MatchesBlock is one of its actions. Source: Akamai Workforce Protector (formerly LayerX) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | MatchesBlock, alert or sanitize on MCP traffic. Source: Lasso Security: MCP security · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Has a watch-only or simulation modeDiffers | Not in our sources | PartlyAlert without blocking. Source: Lasso Security: MCP security · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Records who or what took each actionDiffers | Not in our sources | PartlyAudit-ready reports. Source: Lasso Security: AI usage control · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Also covers SaaS, cloud or homegrown AIDiffers | PartlyCovers AI inside SaaS and web applications through the browser. Source: Akamai Workforce Protector (formerly LayerX) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | MatchesDiscovery and AI-BOM, posture management, red teaming and runtime enforcement for AI apps. Source: Lasso Security homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Has a public price or tiers (vendor site or marketplace)Differs | Not in our sources | PartlyAWS Marketplace lists Lasso for Employees with an annual commit for GenAI chatbots at $20,000 for 12 months (marketplace list price); prices for its other products are not listed there. Source: AWS Marketplace: Lasso for Employees · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Built into | None | None |
| Works with | None in our sources | The usage control page says it works with Palo Alto Networks. The usage control page says it works with CrowdStrike. Offers proxy integrations for AI usage control. Source: Lasso Security: AI usage control · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Price | Not published (demo request only). Source: Akamai Workforce Protector (formerly LayerX) · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Marketplace list price: Lasso for Employees, annual commit for GenAI chatbots, $20,000 for 12 months on AWS Marketplace. Other products: not published. Source: AWS Marketplace: Lasso for Employees · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
Where do they differ?
- Network or SSE proxy: Workforce Protector is not in our sources; Lasso describes it.
- AI or MCP gateway: Workforce Protector is not in our sources; Lasso describes it.
- Names the coding agents it covers: Workforce Protector is not in our sources; Lasso matches.
- Decides on a tool call before it runs: Workforce Protector partly matches; Lasso matches.
- Rolls out through EDR or device management you run: Workforce Protector is not in our sources; Lasso partly matches.
- Can warn or ask instead of only blocking: Workforce Protector matches; Lasso partly matches.
- Has a watch-only or simulation mode: Workforce Protector is not in our sources; Lasso partly matches.
- Records who or what took each action: Workforce Protector is not in our sources; Lasso partly matches.
- Also covers SaaS, cloud or homegrown AI: Workforce Protector partly matches; Lasso matches.
- Has a public price or tiers (vendor site or marketplace): Workforce Protector is not in our sources; Lasso partly matches.
Choose Workforce Protector if
- Most AI use happens in browsers and you want to warn, redact or guide rather than block
- People use agentic browsers or AI assistants inside SaaS apps
Choose Lasso if
- You want controls in several places at once: browser, proxy, MCP gateway and coding agent hooks
- You prefer an open-source MCP gateway you can inspect
Which limits should you check?
Workforce Protector
- Coding agents in a terminal and MCP servers on the device are not described on the page we read.
- The acquisition date is not stated on the page, and no pricing is published.
Lasso
- Several components to deploy and run.
- Asking the user before an action is not described, and the only public price covers its chatbot product on AWS Marketplace.